Mas Photo

University Distinguished Professor and

Milton Harris Chair Professor of Materials Science
Department of Chemistry
Oregon State University
205 Gilbert Hall (Office)
153 Gilbert Hall (Mailing address)
Corvallis, OR 97331-4003

Phone (Office): (541) 737-8235
Phone (Lab): (541) 737-6750
Fax: (541) 737-2062

B.S. University of Madras, India (1975)
M.S. University of Madras, India (1977)
Ph.D. Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India (1981)
Post-Doctoral Fellow, Texas A&M University (1982-84)



University Distingushed Professor (2018-)

Milton Harris Chair Professor of Materials Science, Oregon State Univ. (2006 - )
Signature Faculty Fellow, ONAMI (2006 - )
Research Fellow, DuPont CR&D (2003 - 2006)
Senior Research Scientist, DuPont CR&D (1996 - 2003)
Scientist, DuPont CR&D (1985 - 1995)


Publications and Patents
>370 publications, h-Index: 74 (Web of Science)
58 issued patents


Awards and Honors

2019 International Perkin Medal from The Society of Dyers and Colourists (SDC, UK)

2018 Fellow, The American Assoication for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

2016 Oregon Academy of Science Outstanding Oregon Scientist

2013 F.A. Gilfillan Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Science (OSU)
Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) Medal (2012)
NSF Creativity Extension Award (2012)
Inducted into the Gordon Research Conference (GRC) Hall of Fame (2011)
Chair of Excellence, CRISMAT, Caen, France (2006-2008)
Ralf Busch Materials Science Award, OSU (2007)
DuPont Charles Pedersen Medal Award for Excellence in Scientific Research (2004)